top of page
Search
  • Tess Brown

Using Color & Affections with Purpose

Did you know that wearing red increases your perceived attractiveness? I am passionate about using color psychology to create beautiful environments for people to feel productive, inspired, and happy in. Color psychology is the study of color and how it effects human behavior. In daily life the applications are endless and I think it’s astounding how much this vital factor to the change in our behavior goes unnoticed.


To make an environment inspiring it is pretty obvious: don’t be boring. When I write a paper or create art I want to feel enlightened and comfortable. For instance I wanted my dorm room to be a relaxing and pretty place to get homework done effectively and feel rejuvenated from busy college life. When picking out my colors I went with blues, whites, light pinks, and greys. These colors are easy on the eyes and make me feel like a well rested princess. I draped silver bohemian lights on the wall to add a warm ambiance and hung a painting I did of the beach over my head to remind me of the peaceful ocean. If people work with colors and decor it’s amazing what effect someone can accomplish to change a living space and way of life.


To feel happy in an environment the solution is more obvious then you might think surround yourself with objects and colors that you love. In my dorm room I have flowers, mugs, decorative quotes, and an inspiration board filled with pictures that mean something to me. Fill your room with your passion, and you will be happy in it. However don’t fall into the habit of clutter, because I find that if my room is messy my mind don’t feel as organized. When designing an environment ask your self how you want to feel. Avoid installing hospital lights if you want to feel relaxed. Paint your door red if it’s your desire that visitors feel welcomed. Just following some simple facts about color psychology your contentment can be vastly improved.


One of my greatest loves is sharing the effects of color on the mind, and someday I would like to be an interior designer and put my knowledge to work. For now I only use it in coordinating my outfits, decorating my dorm room, and my art work. It’s one of my greatest wishes that people are enlightened about the effects that color has on your behavior and lifestyle. With a strong passion I hope for a future with more environments that make people feel more productive, inspired, and happy.

7 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page