top of page
Search
  • Tess Brown

Late Night Musings

The night is when I register my day and think about life. As a college student I'm occupied with something 24/7. Throughout my day a lot of stuff happens. I interact with people, I work, and particpate in school. Thoughts and feelings waltz in my head as I take in my environment. Since my scedule is pretty booked and I'm always thinking about what I have to do next, I don't really get the chance to decode that head dance of mine.


For some reason the darkness, silence, and solitude of night provides the means to investigate the internal work of this crazy thing we call life. As you know I love to ask myself questions.What am I thankful for? What accomplisments happened today? What chores have yet to be completed? Do I have good relationships with people? Am I doing the right thing? I tend to start of the night with some anticipation or anxiety about events of the day and what has yet to happen. However, if I let my mind fully process everything, I'll find positivity and peacefulness. A few things I've done to encourage some day processing are the following:


1.) Take a long shower - the perfect cozy environment to think & wash the worries of the day away

2.) Light a candle and/or turn on sparkly lights - calming atmosphere to mediate

3.) Read deep, thoughtful, and emotional literature - often it takes good book or movie to inspire anaytical thought and self reflection.

4.) Talk through your day with a friend - sometimes the best way to process is rehashing your days with a friend. Often I find it takes talking about something outloud to process what it means.

5.) Give yourself time before falling asleep to just lay in your bed and do nothing. Your mind will naturally start to process stuff. If its negative, you can try to direct it to a postive outlook or start listing things you are thankful for.


Happy Musing!


3 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page