top of page
Search
  • Tess Brown

How to Ring in Autumn

It's coming to that bright, spicy, and cozy time of year when the air gets cooler and the trees get brighter. As I have matured I've really grown to love the season of Autumn. I always found it funny that younger kids seem to think summer is by far the best out of the seasons. I swear the crisp air of autumn makes my head more level. Ideally this weather is enjoyed by me in my favorite hoodie, hazelnut latte in hand, lounging around campus. So i'm sure you have rituals or things you do to bring in the season but for the sake of the joy I have some ideas to ring in the season.

1. Fill your house with candles! Pumpkin, spice, and anything nice!

2. Break out those cozy sweaters, hoodies, and boots. Incorporate some dusty oranges, blues, reds, and purples in your wardrobe to match the scenery.

3. Have fun enjoying seasonal treats. I personally am not one for the infamous pumpkin spice latte, but I do love pumpkin pie, butternut squash soup, and cinnamon buns.

4. Cozy up with your loved ones. It's a great time to host a bonfire or movie party.

5. Go apple or pumpkin picking.


Now for the other and deeper ways to bring in Autumn... This season also can serve as a time of change a clean slate. When taking a walk on a fall day I get feelings of something ending, the frivolousness of summer ending, and something more serious and wise to come. The leaves falling feel like when something comes to full term. Haha maybe this isn't everyone's experience, but I wouldn't be surprised if the change in weather might if not just a little subconsciously change your mind set. One of my favorite quotes from F. Scott Fitzgerald is, "Life starts all over again when it gets crisp in the fall."


On that account i've made a list of ways to ring in Autumn in your mindset and spirit.


1. Forgive and let go. If you are holding grudge that is pulling you back let it go. A grudge wont benefit you in any way.

2. Do simple but pleasant actives to clear your head. This could mean reading a book, going for a run, gardening, or drinking a pot of tea.

3. Soak in the friends and family. Get ready for hibernation season with some cozy quality time and laughs.

4. Turn a page in your mindset. Pick out some goals you want to focus on and work on letting go of the mind circles or anxieties that aren't needed. It's also important to realize that negative thoughts are a part of life, and all you can do is try your best to replace them with positive ones.

5. Be thankful of the beautiful autumn scenery that you get to enjoy


I encourage you to take a walk, and contemplate what autumn means to you




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page