top of page
Search
  • Tess Brown

Feeling Comfortable & Happy

Updated: Sep 30, 2019

I would argue that we all strive in one way or another to feel comfortable and happy. These two things seem to only be present when we have our spiritual, emotional, and material needs met. In my busy college life, a strong feeling of comfort and happiness can often to be hard to come by. These moments of bliss and contentment can show up as it would seem accidentally, but more often than not I have to make decisions that will bring me comfort and happiness.


I would argue that the first priority is to take care of your basic material needs. The basic necessaries of life might take the form of food, clothing, and shelter. Hopefully you have these in your life. If you aren't protected from the weather and are hungry you arguably wont be able to be comfortable or happy. However, most of the time I do have these necessaries. Since I'm that spoiled I might have higher standerds of the food, clothing, and shelter that will make me "happy." Right now I don't think I would be happy if all I had was a shed to live in, an oversized t-shirt to wear, and unlimited oatmeal.


What do I mean by spiritual? I'm defining it here as a the life of your inner self. Whether you have a religious faith or not, I would are say that spititual well being has to do with having a faith/belief system that dictates the way you live your life. It's your inner drive or motivation in life. It's where you seek peace of mind. For the individual practicing this could take the form of worshiping, meditating, reading, or other aspects of getting in touch with the higher/bigger picture of life.


Emotional well being is also an ingredient for happiness. Life is often times a roller coaster of negative and positive emotions. One must first battle the negative emotions in order to get to a point of contentmant. It's harder to control your emotions, but what you can do is put yourself in environments were positive emotions are present. This could mean surrounding yourself with the friends and family that feed these good emotions. Perhaps one could do activities that bring them joy


Now comes one big disclaimer, ultimately comfort and happiness are in a way a blessing. By putting yourself in a good environement, participaing in fun activities, and working on having positive emotions is the only thing within your control. A sense of comfort, contentment, and happiness seems to only come to me when I've had some sort of revelation once mediating of the good of life.











13 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page